a distant memoir

2

As we were walking and talking, it randomly started sprinkling to a slow pour of humid summer rain. It stopped just as quickly it started. I remember rushing to find shelter under what seemed to be the Hong Kong clock tower. It was around 12am and I thought to myself, “great, my evening of exploring is ruined.” The avenue of stars was only a few feet away. I looked at the time and felt frustrated and restricted with the curfew (2am) I had to meet. I haven’t had a curfew in a what seemed like ages ago, and I felt like I had reverted back into an adolescent child. What I really wanted was to meet Hong Kong during the late hours when it’s not bustling as it was during the day. There’s just something about roaming around unfamiliar streets at night that is really calming to me, whereas other people might think of danger.

We weren’t sure what else we could do with so little time. Everything, the ferry and shops were all closed. This has got to be the millionth time I’ve missed out on another opportunity to go view the cityscape from Victoria Peak too. I’ll definitely make it my mission to see it next time. Another glance at the time, I felt a slight sadness that I had to venture back soon. We eventually roamed into a hotel and went from chilling at the bar to the lobby. Funny thing is, I don’t really remember anything we talked about that night. All I wanted was for time to freeze for a bit, so I could remember this feeling – the thrill, mystery, excitement, etc. I had been stuck traveling with my family, which was suffocating at times and this moment felt relieving.

Aside from that, meeting you was one of the highlights of my trip. You had a friendly presence about you that made me feel at ease. I could talk to you about almost everything. This made my time sensitive trip to Hong Kong memorable.

Leave a Reply

